top of page

Nominations open for 2023 Arthur Svensson prize

We hereby invite unions all over the world to nominate candidates for next year's award of the "Arthur Svensson international prize for trade union rights" that aims to promote and strengthen trade unions and trade union rights internationally. The prize amount is NOK 500,000 (approx. EUR/USD 47.500). One half goes directly to the prize winner and the other half will be spent on projects related to the prize winner. Deadline is 1st of January 2023.

Since 2010 the Arthur Svensson prize has been awarded to persons and organizations that has worked predominately to promote trade union rights and organizing around the world. Amongst the previous winners we find leaders and activists of the teachers union in Bahrain, the Miners union in Mexico, textile workers in Cambodia, independent unions in Kazakhstan and Belarus and many more. Last year the health workers' union in Liberia and their leader was awarded the prize.

The nomination deadline is January the 1st 2023. The nominees will be judged on to what extent the person or organization has promoted workers' rights and/or trade union organizing in the world.

For trade unions: We would be grateful if you could help to spread this announcement to your affiliates and activists. Representatives and employees of trade unions throughout the world can nominate candidates for the prize.

More on the award here

Previous winners here

As we normally receive many strong nominations, we encourage extensive justifications.

For nominations please use this form. Nominations can also be sent with attachments to


bottom of page